A Data Learn the Language

The Mercury Program


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2007, Tigerstyle

The Mercury Program have paid their dues. Hailing from Gainesville, Florida and having existed for nearly 5 years, this band has been steadily growing and nurturing their sound through years of records and constant touring. 2002 marks the release of their third full length and it is the culmination of years of experimentation and musical growth. A similar formula went into the making of this record as had the previous TMP efforts, recording for 2 weeks with Andy Baker in Athens. However, the results are far from common. A Data Learn the Language is an 8-song, 50 minute ride down the path of a band coming into their own. Bassist Sander Travisano and drummer Dave Leblue lock in the rhythm while vibraphone/keyboardist Whitney Travisano adds splashes of sonic color over Tom Reno's looped and cascading guitars. This record marks TMP's first venture into the world of electronics as drums can be heard coupled with electronic manipulations to create layered, intricate head-bobbing beats. Written as an album, it is clear that the listener is intended to listen to A Data Learn the Language straight through, as there is a distinct progression in both mood and intensity.


Disc 1
1 Tequesta PLAY
2 Fragile Or Possibly Extinct PLAY
3 Slightly Drifting PLAY
4 Egypt PLAY
5 To/From Iceland PLAY
6 You Yourself Are Too Serious PLAY
7 Gently Turned On Your Head PLAY
8 Sultans Of El Sur PLAY

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »