Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Captured Tracks

VINYL FORMAT. Comes with download card! Widowspeak is an American band comprised of Molly Hamilton and Robert Earl Thomas, known for its dreamy, western-tinged take on rock and roll. Their self-titled debut was praised for its reverential spaciousness, Hamilton's haunting voice, and Thomas's sinister Morricone-esque guitar lines. On their second album, Almanac, the duo explores denser arrangements and new sonic territory, from Saharan rhythms to Appalachian- inspired melodies, all delivered with stoic, wistful restraint. Named after those annual tomes which provide agricultural advice, chart weather patterns and astronomical phenomena, Almanac likewise tracks the life and death of seasons, youth, love, and the cyclical nature of all things. The album was recorded by Kevin McMahon (Swans, Real Estate) in a hundred year old barn in the Hudson River Valley of New York State during the transition from summer to fall. Producing with McMahon, Thomas expanded on the band's demos, crafting layers of guitar, Rhodes piano, organ and harmonium.


Disc 1
1 Perennials
2 Dyed In The Wool
3 The Dark Age
4 Thick As Thieves
5 Almanac
6 Ballad Of The Golden Hour
7 Devil Knows
8 Sore Eyes
9 Locusts
10 Minnewaska
11 Spirit Is Willing
12 Storm King

Insound Studio Sessions
Check out exclusive live video and MP3s with Widowspeak!
Widowspeak Studio Session

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »