Before and After Science (Reissue)



We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2005, Astralwerks

"Before and After Science is really a study of 'studio composition' whereby recordings are created by deconstruction and elimination: tracks are recorded and assembled in layers, then selectively subtracted one after another, resulting in a composition and sound quite unlike that at the beginning of the process. Despite the album's pop format, the sound is unique and strays far from the mainstream. Eno also experiments with his lyrics, choosing a sound-over-sense approach. When mixed with the music, these lyrics create a new sense or meaning, or the feeling of meaning, a concept inspired by abstract sound poet Kurt Schwitters (epitomized on the track 'Kurt's Rejoinder,' on which you actually hear samples from Schwitters' 'Ursonate')...The last five tracks...display a serenity unlike anything in the pop music field. These compositions take on an occasional pastoral quality, pensive and atmospheric...The music on 'Before and After Science' at times resembles 'Another Green World' ('No One Receiving') and 'Here Come the Warm Jets' ('King's Lead Hat') and ranks alongside both as the most essential Eno material." --David Ross Smith, All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 No One Receiving
2 Backwater
3 Kurt's Rejoinder
4 Energy Fools the Magician
5 King's Lead Hat
6 Here He Comes
7 Julie with...
8 By This River
9 Through Hollow Lands (For Harold Budd)
10 Spider and I

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »