Thee Oh Sees

Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2011, In The Red

VINYL FORMAT. Double LP – fourth side features an etching by William Keihn, who did the cover art! San Francisco's incredibly prolific Thee Oh Sees are back with another full-length album of original tracks plus a smattering of covers. While the group's previous releases on In The Red, Help and Warm Slime, showcase their amped-up, reverb-drenched garage-psych pummel, on Castlemania, John Dwyer and company take a more low-key approach. Dwyer himself describes Castlemania as "summer-y and poppy"; on many of the tracks, electric guitars are jettisoned for acoustic, and the normally echo-laden vocals are a bit clearer. Happy pop melodies, sweet and somber tunes, psychedelic moves galore, cover versions of The Creation and the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band, and at least one garage stomper all rub elbows on Thee Oh Sees' "sunshine pop" album. Its release couldn't be more perfectly suited to the time of the year when the sunny skies return and the flowers start blooming. Watch for Thee Oh Sees to return later this year with another full-length of pulverizing, heavy stomp. In the meantime, relax and enjoy Castlemania.


Disc 1 Disc 2
1 I Need Seed
2 Corprophagist (a Bath Perhaps)
3 Stinking Cloud
4 Corrupted Coffin
5 Pleasure Blimps
6 Wall, A Century 2
7 Spider Cider
8 Whipping Continues
9 Blood on the Deck
10 Castlemania
11 AA Warm Breeze
12 Idea for Rubber Dog
13 Horse Was Lost
14 I Won't Hurt You
15 If I Stay Too Long
16 What Are We Craving? [*]

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »