Inspectah Deck | 7L and Esoteric

Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Brick Records

VINYL FORMAT. Now on blue + green vinyl! When soon-to-be-renowned Boston hip-hop duo 7L and Esoteric collaborated with the Wu-Tang Clan's Inspectah Deck on the title track to 7LES's debut EP Speaking Real Words in 1999, the timing was perfect. The upstart duo was building a serious buzz on the East Coast and beyond, while Deck was still winning praise for his gold-selling solo disc Uncontrolled Substance. As flashy pop-oriented rap was pumped on commercial radio stations, their natural chemistry and simpatico skills shone as a beacon to real hip-hop fans, a base of listeners who were soon asking about their next musical summit. Not surprising, respect for real hip-hop runs deep, and Czarface brings an army with it – consider the star-studded guest list which includes Roc Marciano, Action Bronson, Vinnie Paz, Oh No, Mr. MFN eXquire, and Deck's fellow Wu-Tang Clansmen Ghostface Killah and Cappadonna. Aside from one track blessed by the almighty DJ Premier, production on Czarface belongs exclusively to DJ 7L, who provides the musical backbone which holds the album together. His ability to craft a hip-hop sound that's current and exciting with a classic feel left Deck impressed: "This is one of the first albums I've heard in a while that gives you so many different feels. You hear the '80s hip-hop style, '80s R&B and rock combines with what's going on now. That's creating something new, in my opinion."


Disc 1
1 Czarface Intro
2 Air 'Em Out
3 Cement 3's f. Roc Marciano
4 Czar Refaeli f. Oh No
5 Rock Beast
6 Savagely Attack f. Ghostface Killah
7 Marvel Team-Up
8 It's Raw f. Action Bronson
9 Let It Off (prod. DJ Premier)
10 Word War 4
11 Dead Zone
12 Poisonous Thoughts f. Mr. MFN Exquire
13 Shoguns f. Cappadonna & Vinnie Paz
14 Hazmat Rap

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »