Dear God, I Hate Myself

Xiu Xiu

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Kill Rock Stars

INSOUND EXCLUSIVE! Order and receive instantly at checkout mp3s of acoustic versions of "Cumberland Gap" and "Hyunhye's Theme"!

VINYL FORMAT. The two biggest constants throughout Xiu Xiu's catalog are honesty and evolution. This remains true with Dear God, I Hate Myself as it delivers a look at responsibility, fear, healing, and societal roles wrapped in rich gothic pop music. The sound is still distinctly Xiu Xiu, but Jamie Stewart's vocals are finally effortless paired with vibrant melodies full of subtlety and the distinct sonic accents expected of this anticipated Xiu Xiu release. The result is a record that proves that art can be pop and pop can challenge you to look inside yourself. Stewart is joined by new full-time band member Angela Seo on piano, synth, and drum programming; with production handled by Jamie and Deerhoof's Greg Saunier. Together they've crafted a fully-grown sound for Dear God, I Hate Myself with elements from goth and pop that are expertly performed by a crop of brilliant musicians.


Disc 1
1 Gray Death
2 Chocolate Makes You Happy
3 Apple for a Brain
4 House Sparrow
5 Hyunhye's Theme
6 Dear God, I Hate Myself
7 Secret Motel
8 Falkland Rd.
9 Fabrizio Palumbo Retaliation
10 Cumberland Gap
11 This Too Shall Pass Away
12 Impossible Feeling
13 Ropes Have Pulled Tight [*]
14 Cute Pee Pee [*]

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »