Down By the Old Mainstream (Reissue)

Golden Smog

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Rykodisc

VINYL FORMAT. "Like most supergroup projects, Golden Smog's Down By the Mainstream is a loose, relaxed affair that sounds like it was a lot of fun to record. Unlike most supergroups, the members of Golden Smog improve on their regular bands. Comprised of a number of alternative country-rock stars - including Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, the Jayhawks' Gary Louris, and Soul Asylum's Dan Murphy - the musicians are relaxed and loose, giving the songs a raw, rootsy kick. Since the album wasn't carefully considered, it has an offhand, relaxed charm that is sometimes lacking from Jayhawks and Soul Asylum albums . . . the performances are full of grit and fire, which is what makes Down By the Mainstream such an engaging listen." - All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 V
2 Ill Fated
3 Pecan Pie
4 Yesterday Cried
5 Glad & Sorry
6 Won't Be Coming Home
7 He's a Dick
8 Walk Where He Walked
9 Nowhere Bound
10 Friend
11 She Don't Have to See You
12 Red Headed Stepchild
13 Williamton Angel
14 Radio King

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »