Forget the Night Ahead

The Twilight Sad


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2009, FatCat Records

The Twilight Sad's much anticipated follow-up to Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters is a dark and tumultuous listen. Produced by guitarist Andy McFarlane with Paul Savage (of Delgados) at Glasgow's famed Chem 19 studios, Forget the Night Ahead retains the guitar-washed drama of their previous effort, with an added complexity both sonic and thematic.

While lyrically darker than previous outings, Forget the Night Ahead retains vocalist James Graham's portentous knack for unsettling lines, forcefully delivered in his Caledonian burr. Musically, the new record is no less compelling: Andy MacFarlane's distinctive tremelo'd guitar creates seismic shifts between melancholic introspection and explosive release, the cacophony broadening to accommodate the band's most melodic and yet most thrillingly discordant moments to date.


Disc 1
1 Reflection of the Television
2 I Became a Prostitute
3 Seven Years of Letters
4 Made to Disappear
5 Scissors [Instrumental]
6 Room
7 That Birthday Present
8 Floorboards Under the Bed
9 Interrupted
10 Neighbours Can't Breathe
11 At the Burnside

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »