Give Up

The Postal Service

Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

LP+MP3! Order this record and get a link to download the entire album for free after checkout!

Check out our review of Give Up in our Stuff We Like blog.

2005, Sub Pop Records

VINYL FORMAT. It's been nearly two years since the monumentally successful Give Up CD came out. Now comes the vinyl edition, containing a bonus six track EP with the b-sides of both commercially available Postal Service CD singles. Also includes covers by The Shins and Iron & Wine as well as the remixes from "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" single.

All 10 tracks are exercises in smooth beauty, with Gibbard's inviting voice perfectly complementing Tamborello's unique and charming programming, and guest vocals from Jen Wood and Rilo Kiley's Jenny Lewis adding a gentle layer of sweetness to many of the songs. Though it's tempting to call it an "'80s-sounding" record because of its keyboard-driven pop sensibilities, there's nothing retro about "Give Up," save for a few sounds here and there and "Nothing Better," a duet with Wood inspired by The Human League's "Don't You Want Me." Fans of Death Cab will hear faint echoes of Gibbard's main band in The Postal Service, but overall it's a completely different experience.


Disc 1
1 District Sleeps Alone Tonight
2 Such Great Heights
3 Sleeping In
4 Nothing Better
5 Recycled Air
6 Clark Gable
7 We Will Become Silhouettes
8 This Place Is a Prison
9 Brand New Colony
10 Natural Anthem

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »