Halcyon Digest


Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

Halcyon Digest is part of our 70% OFF!

2010, 4AD

VINYL FORMAT. On 120 gram white vinyl; comes with a digital download coupon! Halcyon Digest is Deerhunter's fourth album and their first to be released on 4AD worldwide. The album was recorded in at Chase Park Transduction Studios in Deerhunter's hometown of Athens, GA with the band self-producing and Ben Allen enlisted to mix it (he also worked on Animal Collective's Merriweather Post Pavillion). Shunning the current trend of using online portals to drip feed every detail to announce a record, Halcyon Digest was launched with the band wanting a return to Xerox postering instead. Fans were encouraged to poster local haunts in return for being the first to know news on the record and touring plus receiving exclusive tracks from the band. Hundreds of photos were sent in from New York to London to Moscow and all points between.

Following the massive critical success of Deerhunter's last album Microcastle, expectations are feverishly inflated for the new Deerhunter release. Luckily, the Atlanta quartet seem to operate in their own realm, away from the rolling cycles of pressure and praise. And it shows in Halcyon Digest, which is an impressively self-assured work; with a level of detail and care that belies its two-week recording process. Deerhunter are one of those rare acts that it is nigh on impossible to second guess - what they record apparently depends greatly on their mood at the time, rather than any great pre-planning. And so it should be no great shock that Halcyon Digest is a world away from the frenetic wall of distorted guitars that (at times) defined Microcastle. Indeed, if this album resembles anything, it is more the Atlas Sound album Logos, recorded by Deerhunter main man Bradford Cox post-Microcastle. In other words, Halcyon Digest is noticeably more calm, tuneful and reliant on electronics and acoustics than Microcastle, especially on album closer "He Would Have Laughed," recorded in tribute to Jay Reatard.


Disc 1
1 Earthquake
2 Don't Cry
3 Revival
4 Sailing
5 Memory Boy
6 Desire Lines
7 Basement Scene
8 Helicopter
9 Fountain Stairs
10 Coronado
11 He Would Have Laughed [For Jimmy Lee Lindsey Jr.]

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »