Sly and the Family Stone

Vinyl 8xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Legacy

VINYL FORMAT. Vinyl box set, includes 77 tracks. Also included in Higher! is a stunningly colorful and evocatively detailed 104-page, 10-inch book of rare photographs, posters, picture sleeves, recording documents, vintage ads, and other memorabilia, along with extensive liner notes by Jeff Kaliss), track-by-track annotations, and a detailed timeline of Sly & The Family Stone’s life and career.

Session musicians and dub masters who evolved into the background and backbeat of reggae music from 1980s onward. Theirs is the ultimate musical marriage, a partnership that, once formed, re-etched the very landscape of not just Jamaican music, but the entire world's. Such hyperbole is oftentimes rolled out by publicity machines whenever two musical talents come together, but in the case of drummer Sly Dunbar and bassist Robbie Shakespeare, it really was an earth-shattering union. Their rhythms have been the driving force behind innumerable songs -- one statistician estimated that together they've played on approximately 200,000 tracks, and that doesn't count remixes, versions, and dubs. As a production team, they were the equivalent of a creative storm, the cutting edge of modern dub, reggae, and dancehall.


Disc 1 Disc 2 Disc 3 Disc 4 Disc 5 Disc 6 Disc 7 Disc 8
1 I Just Learned How to Swim
2 Scat Swim
3 Buttermilk, Pt. 1
4 Dance All Night
5 Temptation Walk
6 I Ain't Got Nobody (For Real)
7 I Can't Turn You Loose
8 Higher (Single Version)
9 Underdog (Single Version)
10 Bad Risk (Album Version)
11 Let Me Hear It from You (Single Version Mono)
12 Advice (Album Version)
13 If This Room Could Talk (Album Version)

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »