Pissed Jeans


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Sub Pop

Age and four full-lengths haven't mellowed Pissed Jeans; they can still unleash a blare that will exfoliate your cochlea. Formed in Allentown, Pennsylvania, Pissed Jeans released Shallow, their first album, in 2005 on Parts Unknown Records. The band relocated to Philadelphia seven years ago, and Sub Pop released Hope for Men in 2007, and then King of Jeans in 2009. The latter was recorded by Grammy nominee Alex Newport, who also recorded Honeys. Age and experience, have, however, refined Pissed Jeans. Their ideas and execution have become more subtly focused. The songs on Honeys are direct without being obtuse, evocative without being vague, personal without being indulgent. They also rock like nobody's business. Forget all the claptrap you've heard about other bands delivering the goods. If you want bloodthirsty, you've got it… At times Honeys is the sound of being bashed over the head with a snow shovel. At times the band slows down and sounds like waking from nightmare you can't quite remember. The songs are catchy, but in a way that would appeal to mental patients who only understand colors.

Honeys stews on the kind of mundane, niggling things that keep you up late at night."Bathroom Laughter" kicks off the record with ominous bass that sputters into Pissed Jean's most stomping track yet. The song is a narrative about being on the periphery of a nasty scene; it's an oblique reminder of the glimpses we get into other people's indiscretions. "Loubs" struts and swings under an unrequited rhapsody to a woman in high heels. In the hands of most bands this would be a moronic blurt, but the Jeans turn it into an uncomfortable monologue of longing. "Health Plan" is more direct: a song about the fear of going to the doctor, delivered at Black Flag velocity. Honeys is an ode to the misery and shackles of being a responsible adult, and the shame of one's own narcissism. Pissed Jeans trucks in menacing songs about insecurity, and nobody has ever done it better.


Disc 1
1 Bathroom Laughter
2 Chain Worker
3 Romanticize Me
4 Vain In Costume
5 You're Different In Person
6 Cafeteria Food
7 Something About Mrs. Johnson
8 Male Gaze
9 Cathouse
10 Loubs
11 Health Plan
12 Teenage Adult

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »