The Breeders

Vinyl 7xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

Check out our review of LSXX in our Stuff We Like blog.

2013, 4AD

VINYL FORMAT. The vinyl box set includes: - a 12-inch vinyl pressing of Last Splash
- four 10-inch EPs - Safari, Cannonball, Divine Hammer, and Head to Toe
- a 12-inch vinyl live concert album, Stockholm Syndrome, recorded in Sweden in 1994, during the band's last European tour. Seven tracks from this recording originally appeared on a fan-club-only CD; nine additional unreleased tracks from the concert are included here.
- a 12-inch vinyl record comprised of a BBC radio session recorded July 24, 1993 and available here for the first time, and the original Last Splash demo recordings, made in November, 1992
- a 24-page booklet featuring previously unpublished photographs taken during the recording of Last Splash, personal photos taken during two years of touring, and reminiscences written by band members and others, including Kim Gordon and J Mascis.

The Breeders' LSXX a deluxe anniversary edition of Last Splash released on 4AD. Kim Deal, Kelley Deal, Josephine Wiggs, and Jim Macpherson played their first show together on Friday June 19, 1992, in a snooker hall behind Warrington Rugby Club, near Manchester, in the north of England. Two days later they supported Nirvana in Dublin and Belfast, and then played the Glastonbury Festival. Back in the US, after playing 27 sold-out shows that fall, they made their way to San Francisco to record the album Last Splash.

Released August 30, 1993 on 4AD, reviewers described Last Splash as ”effervescent,” “blistering,” and “incoherent.” At its center is the infectiously appealing, instantly recognizable “Cannonball,” which, propelled in part by the video directed by Kim Gordon and Spike Jonze, was voted Single of the Year by the NME. After more than two years of touring, they played their last show together on September 5th, 1994, at Lollapalooza in Los Angeles. Many of the recordings included in the set have never been released before, and for other tracks, it will be the first time they receive a worldwide release. Cover and individual sleeve artwork has been created by renowned British graphic designer Vaughan Oliver, who described it as "an irreverent conceptual and visual re-imagining" of his original Last Splash artwork.


Disc 1 Disc 2 Disc 3 Disc 4 Disc 5 Disc 6 Disc 7
1 New Year
2 Cannonball
3 Invisible Man
4 No Aloha
5 Roi
6 Do You Love Me Now?
7 Flipside
8 I Just Wanna Get Along
9 Mad Lucas
10 Divine Hammer
11 S.O.S.
12 Hag
13 Saints
14 Drivin' on 9
15 Roi (Reprise)

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »