Lagos Shake: A Tony Allen Chop Up

Tony Allen


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2008, Honest Jon's Records

Two years ago, Honest Jon's travelled to Lagos with the great drummer Tony Allen, to make his first recordings there since his time with Fela Kuti -- an album entitled Lagos No Shaking, a classic of contemporary Afrobeat. Since then, the label has widely commissioned numerous responses to those new sides: from legends of dance music culture like Basic Channel in Berlin, for example, and founding father of Detroit techno, Carl Craig; and young tigers like Dizzee Rascal's Newham Generals, MIA producer Diplo in Baltimore, and carioca sensations Bonde Do Role from Rio De Janeiro. There are also new recordings from Cairo, Saturn, Bogota and Kingston, Jamaica -- fresh interpretations or complete reworkings by the space jazz pioneer Salah Ragab, a street brass band descended from Sun Ra's Arkestra, highlife-inspired Afro-Colombian drummers from the village of San Palenque De Basilio, and a veteran of Count Ossie's Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari. Afrobeat, dub, jazz, chalupa, electro, highlife, techno, grime, carioca, champeta and funk from all corners, fizzing away together here - it could only be from Honest Jon's.


Disc 1
1 Sankofa [Version]
2 Kilode Remix [Version]
3 Awa Na Re Remix [Version]
4 Mark's Disco Dub [Version]
5 Reggae Land Dub [Version]
6 Tetsuya's Theme [Version]
7 Samba [Version]
8 Fuji Ouija [Version]
9 Ole [Cairo Version]
10 Ole Remix [Version]

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »