Light Up Gold

Parquet Courts

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2012, Dull Tools

VINYL FORMAT. Little was said about New York (via Texas) band Parquet Courts' debut effort, American Specialties. Released exclusively on cassette tape, the quasi-album was an odd collection of 4 track recordings that left those who were paying attention wanting more. A year of wood shedding live sets passed before the Courts committed another song to tape. The band's first proper LP, Light UpGold, is a dynamic and diverse foray into the back alleys of the American DIY underground. Bright guitars swirl serpentine over looping, groovy post-punk bass lines and drums that border on robotic precision. While the initial rawness of the band's early output remains, the songwriting has gracefully evolved. Primary wordsmiths A. Savage and Austin Brown combine for a dynamic lyrical experience, one part an erudite overflow of ideas, the other an exercise in laid-back observation. Lyrically dense, the poetry is in how it flows along with the melody, often times as locked-in as the rhythm section. Recorded over a few days in an ice-box practice space, Light Up Gold is equally indebted to Krautrock, The Fall, and a slew of contemporaries like Tyvek and Eddy Current Suppression Ring.


Disc 1
1 Master Of My Craft
2 Borrowed Time
3 Donuts Only
4 Yr No Stoner
5 Yonder Is Closer To The Heart
6 Careers In Combat
7 Light Up Gold I
8 Light Up Gold II
9 N. Dakota
10 Stoned And Starving
11 No Ideas
12 Caster Of Worthless Spells
13 Disney P.T.
14 Tears O Plenty
15 Picture Of Health

Customer Reviews


1 reviews

This album is awesome to smoke lots of dank to and check out all the reference points being provided. It all comes off pretty well, if not becoming enjoyable after a few listens. So far I have established that there is definitely a GBV song and a Modern Lovers song. Which aren't terrible references when you objectively examine the facts.

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »