Los Angeles

Flying Lotus


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2008, Warp Records

The first moments of Flying Lotus' Los Angeles come on as lush analog waves, just distorted enough to sound like a faded memory of something you once heard on a radio from across a room. Essentially, it's instant transportation. Whether it is forward or backward in time, you'll never know as the sounds of the record leap recklessly into the future while keeping a sly glance back towards the classics of every genre. In this case, establishing a timeframe is not nearly as important as establishing the setting, which, as the album's title may have tipped you off, is none other than southern California. Like Flying Lotus' full-length Warp debut, Los Angeles and its surrounding areas are studies in deep contrast: haves and have-nots, glitter and grime, sunshine and shadow, whimsy and tension.


Disc 1
1 Brainfeeder
2 Breathe. Something/Stellar Star
3 Beginners Falafel
4 Camel
5 Melt!
6 Comet Course
7 Orbit 405
8 Golden Diva
9 Hot
11 Parisian Goldfish
12 Sleepy Dinosaur
13 Robertaflack
14 Sexslaveship
15 Auntie's Harp
16 Testament
17 Auntie's Lock/Infinitum

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »