Memoryhouse (Reissue)

Max Richter

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, FatCat Records

VINYL FORMAT. Originally released in 2002 but long out-of-print, Max Richter's gorgeous debut album will finally see a much-awaited reissue via FatCat's 130701 imprint. Recorded by Richter with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and critically lauded on its original release, Memoryhouse is quite deservedly held very dear to the broad-reaching "post-classical" field.

Championed as much in musical academia as by fans of film score and of contemporary music, Richter's pieces share common ground with composers such as Henryk Gorecki, Arvo Part, Philip Glass, Michael Nyman and Steve Reich in their depth, patience and articulacy, but also capture the swooning serenity and grace of quieter moments from Sigur Ros or Godspeed You! Black Emporer. Contemporaries Nico Muhly, Eluvium, Johan Johansson or labelmate Hauschka provide a loose comparison point, but Max's evocative sense of vision is stunningly singular, as is his extraordinary ability to suddenly open up a piece of music like opening one's eyes to glorious sunshine.

Memoryhouse is bright, sparkling, exhilarating, warming, gripping, heart-breaking, comforting and rousing, and never loses it's awe-inspiring sense of identity and imagination. It is enveloping - one can get lost in the lovingly-composed intricacies and interaction between instruments - or can be a subtle, albeit chill-inducing, soundtrack to the everyday.


Disc 1
1 Europe, After The Rain
2 Maria, The Poet (1913), for string orchestra
3 Laika's Journey
4 Twins (Prague)
5 Sarajevo
6 Andras
7 Untitled (Figures)
8 Sketchbook, for string quartet
9 November, for violin & orchestra
10 Jan's Notebook
11 Arbenita (11 Years)
12 Garden (1973)
13 Landscape with Figure (1922)
14 Fragment, for solo violin
15 Lines On A Page (One Hundred Violins)
16 Embers, for piano trio
17 Last Days
18 Quartet (1908), for string quartet

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »