Neptune City

Nicole Atkins


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2007, Columbia

Neptune City, produced by Tore Johansson (Cardigans, Franz Ferdinand, OK Go, Saint Etienne, New Order), is an album that sounds like it came from anywhere but the New Jersey Americana rock tradition made famous by Bruce Springsteen. Her music ranges far afield: at some times vaudevillian, at others psychedelic, a little bit country, a dash from early musicals, all under a cloud of pop-noir, often all coming in the very same song. Atkins writes songs that could have come from an episode of Six Feet Under, or an updating of Grease, as directed by David Lynch. The record calls to mind Roy Orbison if he were a woman; the bleak visions of Nick Cave and Leonard Cohen; the darkly mysterious girl group-on-acid musings of Julee Cruise and Lynch composer Angelo Badalamenti; the sorrow of Patsy Cline, the 60s experimentation of Love and Nuggets; all with a redeeming sense of hope amidst the emotional wreckage that is all Nicole.


Disc 1
1 Maybe Tonight
2 Together We're Both Alone
3 Way It Is
4 Cool Enough
5 War Torn
6 Love Surreal
7 Neptune City
8 Brooklyn's on Fire!
9 Kill the Headlights
10 Party's Over

Customer Reviews


3 reviews

arthur kay
This singer is great!!!!!!!!!! i could listen to her songs over and over again. The passion that comes out of her voice is overwelhming. What a different sound, it's a pleasure to hear a great voice again. I would recommend this cd to everyone , it is a must buy.
linda diamond
what a sexeeeee voice, great sound, its very deep and great to listen to. she will go far
Alyx Brun
Her voice is amazing- I love this album and can't wait to see what she comes out with next! Saw her live- she is the real deal, no studio sugar-coating on this voice!

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »