Imperial Teen

MP3 $10.49

Add To Cart
Stock Status:
Immediate Download
Save For Later
Saving an item for later adds it to your wishlist.

2002, Merge Records

“Opening with a thrilling new version of the previously vinyl-only Ivanka and the chaotic stop-and-start stomper Baby, On begins like any other Imperial Teen album. A pop-perfect hybrid of Top 40, punk, glam, and {new wave}, that one-two power punch could have easily fit on either of the California foursome's first two near masterpieces, 1996's Seasick and 1999's What Is Not to Love. When the band launches into the album's third number, Sugar, however, even longtime fans may be surprised by the new direction. Trading in the insanely danceable rock beats of You're One and Year of the Tan for more mid-tempo, keyboard-driven pop-lite compositions, Imperial Teen is clearly evolving into a group of subtler, more nuanced songwriters. Which, despite occasionally sounding light years removed from the full-throttle {pop/rock} of its previous output, doesn't mean that On fails to live up to the exhilarating heights of its predecessors: Relentlessly hummable and teeming with beautiful girl/boy harmonies that most bands only dream of, these 12 '80s-tinged tracks simply see the band fine-tuning its singalong songs and, in the process, securing its reign at the top of the pops.” ~ Jimmy Draper, All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 Ivanka PLAY
2 Baby PLAY
3 Sugar PLAY
4 Million $ Man PLAY
5 Captain PLAY
6 Our Time PLAY
7 Undone PLAY
8 Mr. & Mrs. PLAY
9 Teacher's Pet PLAY
10 City Song PLAY
11 My Spy PLAY
12 The First PLAY

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »