Pop Negro

El Guincho

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

DOWNLOAD a free copy of "Bombay" right now!

2010, XL Recordings

VINYL FORMAT. Comes with a digital download coupon! El Guincho is Pablo Díaz-Reixa. He was born in the Canary Islands (Spain), but later moved to Barcelona to pursue his passions for film and music, as his childhood dreams of becoming a soccer or tennis star fizzled out. As unique as he is talented, El Guincho blends a mix of sounds in his music that demand he be treated as a musician in a class of his own - his music has all the comforts of familiarity without easily being pigeon holed. Pop Negro is a blend of afro-beat percussion, psych tropicalia, trance repetition, steel drums, and much much more. Pop Negro is an album that will transport the listener to an island paradise that no one has ever been to but that everyone knows exists somewhere in our collective music minds. Though this is El Guincho's second album, in many ways it's the very album he's always dreamed of making. An eighteen month process that saw him record for three months in Berlin's infamous Planet Roc studio and mix with Jon Gass (Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston, Babyface, Anita Baker, Boyz II Men etc), later led him back to the Canary Islands to become a wind surfing instructor, in order to raise the money necessary to finish it properly. Luckily, the final album is nothing short of a global music masterpiece. Both grounded in a personal knowledge and passion of music history, while utterly ground breaking, fun, and contemporary, El Guincho's Pop Negro is a must have for anyone's personal music library.


Disc 1
1 Bombay
2 Novias
3 Ghetto Facil
4 Soca Del Eclipse
5 Lycra Mistral
6 Fm Tan Sexy
7 Muerte Midi
8 (Chica-Oh) Drims
9 Danza Invinto

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »