Sigh No More

Mumford and Sons


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Glassnote Records

"British four-piece Mumford and Sons has been in the vanguard of something of a UK folk revival since the band formed two years ago and create manly, passionate music which stirs the soul and warms the heart. Sigh No More is an extraordinary debut from a band which has built a committed following through extensive live appearances. Extraordinary not simply because it's a good album but because it is popularizing a style of music which, other than for the odd halcyon period, is derided as only fit for people who think Fishermen's smocks, sandals, and Arran sweaters are cool. Relax; this is good enough for you to rattle your pewter tankards to. The very name Mumford and Sons conjures up a sepia image of waistcoats and starched collars, of a family business from a bygone age. The kind you'd rely upon to build you a dry stone wall or re-roof your hay loft. There's a sense here of building something solid and worthy that runs throughout the record. This is a band that would give its all and not overcharge for the privilege. The very English sensibility of the album is counterbalanced by the production values, which at times call to mind Arcade Fire's Neon Bible. This is no great surprise, as the record was produced by Marcus Dravs, who in addition to Arcade Fire, has worked with Bjork and The Maccabees." - Tony Hardy / Consequence of Sound


Disc 1
1 Sign No More
2 The Cave
3 Winter Winds
4 Roll Away Your Stone
5 White Blank Page
6 I Gave You All
7 Little Lion Man
8 Timshel
9 Thistle & Weeds
10 Awake My Soul
11 Dust Bowl Dance
12 After The Storm

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »