Soul Food


MP3 $8.99

Add To Cart
Stock Status:
Immediate Download
Save For Later
Saving an item for later adds it to your wishlist.

2008, Crypt Records

"On Soul Food, Jack Oblivian, Eric Oblivian, and Greg Oblivian trade off on guitars and drums (no bass) in a 30-minute album of guitar chicken scratching with bent note solos, some church organ, spitting vocals, and thud-and-crash drumming. The songs are delivered like a fire-and-brimstone preacher who dabbles as Mr. Hyde on weekends, full of spirit and depravity. Few bands sound as possessed by the belief in the power of {rock & roll}. Like similarly veined groups the Cramps, Tav Falco, and the Gories, the Oblivians often sound deranged in their preservation of the raw shaking beat of pre-Elvis manic and dark blues. The Oblivians honor the same canon of musicians, opening the record with a stomping cover of Lightnin' Hopkins' Vietnam Blues. A legacy to the past is established but the party has just begun. The lonely screaming anthem No Reason to Live elicits both sympathy and a pumping fist in the listener. No one wants Greg Oblivian to end it all, but it sure is fun to bomp around to this track. Testimonials of faith in the culture and music that they love continue in Never Change and Static Party. Sunday, You Need Love and And Then I Fucked Her would have some people looking for dust on the needle if it wasn't a CD. The bare-bones live production heightens the urgency; the Oblivians are desperate to get these songs off their souls. The Oblivians ignore the speed, grunge, and artsy angles bands pass off as the next stage of rock. They are dedicated to a sound: Never Change declares, Like a broken record/I play the same sad song. Production and perfect playing are overrated; Soul Food's greatness is found in emotion and devotion." ~ Chris Moonie, All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 Viet Nam War Blues PLAY
2 And Then I Fucked Her PLAY
3 Big Black Hole PLAY
4 Jim Cole PLAY
5 Mad Lover PLAY
6 Sunday You Need Love PLAY
7 Never Change PLAY
8 No Reason To Live PLAY
9 I'm Not A Sicko, There's A Plate In My Head PLAY
10 Blew My Cool PLAY
11 Cannonball PLAY
12 Nigger Rich PLAY
13 Bum A Ride PLAY
14 Anyway You Want It PLAY
15 Static Party PLAY
16 Ja Ja Ja PLAY

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »