Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy) (Reissue)



We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2005, Astralwerks

"Continuing the twisted pop explorations of 'Here Come the Warm Jets,' Eno's sophomore album, 'Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy),' is more subdued and cerebral, and a bit darker when he does cut loose, but it's no less thrilling once the music reveals itself. It's a loose concept album -- often inscrutable, but still playful -- about espionage, the Chinese Communist revolution, and dream associations, with the more stream-of-consciousness lyrics beginning to resemble the sorts of random connections made in dream states. Eno's richly layered arrangements juxtapose very different treated sounds, yet they blend and flow together perfectly, hinting at the directions his work would soon take with the seamless sound paintings of 'Another Green World.' Although not quite as enthusiastic as 'Here Come the Warm Jets,' 'Taking Tiger Mountain' is made accessible through Eno's mastery of pop song structure, a form he would soon transcend and largely discard." --Steve Huey, All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 Burning Airlines Give You So Much More PLAY
2 Back In Judy's Jungle PLAY
3 The Fat Lady Of Limbourg PLAY
4 Mother Whale Eyeless PLAY
5 The Great Pretender PLAY
6 Third Uncle PLAY
7 Put A Straw Under Baby PLAY
8 The True Wheel PLAY
9 China My China PLAY
10 Taking Tiger Mountain PLAY

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »