The Commodore Days

Billie Holiday

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Doxy

VINYL FORMAT. Import! A Lady Day collection featuring four songs recorded in 1939 and twelve from three separate sessions in 1944. "Billie Holiday has often been popularly labeled a blues singer, but she was never that, within the generally accepted definition. The overwhelming majority of her records are of popular songs, Tin Pan Alley trifles, which she elevates by her immense talent into significant jazz performances. It could be said that Bessie Smith brought the blues to the popular song, while Billie Holiday took the popular song to the blues. Her whole checkered life, sometimes intensely gay, often abysmally tragic, always defiant, imbued her with the true spirit of the blues. However banal the lyric or trite the tune, this spirit became the catalyst by which they were transmuted into blues . . . Little need be said of the performances themselves. Place the disc on your turntable; sit back and listen to old tunes that become new in Billie's hands; commonplace ballads that become unique." - Ian Jennings (from the original liner notes)


Disc 1
1 Strange Fruit
2 Yesterdays
3 Fine and Mellow
4 I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
5 How Am I to Know?
6 My Old Flame
7 I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
8 I Cover the Waterfront
9 I'll Be Seeing You
10 I'm Yours
11 Embraceable You
12 As Time Goes By
13 He's Funny That Way
14 Lover, Come Back to Me
15 Billie's Blues
16 On the Sunny Side of the Street

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »