The Electric Lady

Janelle Monae

Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Bad Boy Records

VINYL FORMAT. Black + white vinyl! Comes with download code! From the sound of The Electric Lady, is an urgent and dangerous form of dance music, rebel music that forces one to fight, jam, and fall in love. Like on The ArchAndroid, the sonic textures of the album are varied, and the past and present come together to explode and create a mind-blowing future for pop and soul music. For example, wondrous strings reminiscent of Curtis Mayfield and Bernard Herrmann orchestrations abound, Hendrixian guitar solos soar, Outkast-like raps float over punk rock riffs; defiant socially-conscious lyrics extol the virtues of soul-searching and fighting for change, while the funk simply melts your speakers: 808s boom and Prince-like synthesizers squiggle in your earhole, making it veritably impossible to just sit still.


Disc 1
1 Suite IV: Electric Overture
2 Givin Em What They Love
3 Q.U.E.E.N.
4 Electric Lady
5 Good Morning Midnight
6 PrimeTime
7 We Were Rock n' Roll
8 The Chrome Shoppe
9 Dance Apocalyptic
10 Look Into My Eyes
11 Suite V: Electric Overture
12 It's Code
13 Ghetto Woman
14 Our Favorite Fugitive
15 Victory
16 Can't Live Without Your Love
17 Sally Ride
18 Dorothy Dandridge Eyes
19 What an Experience

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »