The Five Ghosts


Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Vagrant

VINYL FORMAT. On 180 gram vinyl; comes with a digital download card! Love and death have always been the twin engines of the popular song: the pursuit of love and the mourning of its passing; the havoc death wrecks upon love; love's survival in the aftermath of death; death as metaphor for the loss of one's identity to the consumptive power of love. Few bands of recent times have understood this as completely as Stars. And fewer bands still have so eloquently articulated, in words and in melodies, the seemingly countless ways love and death fill our days and rule our lives. Ten years after singer-lyricist Torquil Campbell and keyboardist Chris Seligman conceived of Stars in a decrepit New York apartment, one can listen back through the band's discography and hear dozens of songs that find new ways to contemplate these ancient, ageless subjects. To that end, The Five Ghosts, Stars' fifth full-length album, would seem to be business as usual. Indeed, a scan of its song titles - "Dead Hearts," "I Died So I Could Haunt You," "The Last Song Ever Written" - would suggest as much. And yes, the band whose previous album, 2007's In Our Bedroom After the War, imagined romance in the shadow of the threat of apocalypse, are as fascinated as ever by the potential of the ruinous love song. But The Five Ghosts is different from previous Stars albums. Simpler, sparer, and more confident (in its own quiet way), it also trades some of the band's previous dramatic flourish for the sort of direct, heart bearing communication that comes from hard-won experience.


Disc 1
1 Dead Hearts
2 Wasted Daylight
3 I Died So I Could Haunt You
4 Fixed
5 We Don't Want Your Body
6 He Dreams He's Awake
7 Changes
8 The Passenger
9 The Last Song Ever Written
10 How Much More
11 Winter Bones

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »