This Nation's Saving Grace (Reissue)

The Fall

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2010, Beggars Banquet

VINYL FORMAT. '"Feel the wrath of my Bombast!" exhorts Smith on this follow-up to their groundbreaking The Wonderful and Frightening World of the Fall, and this collection is ample proof of the pure confidence the group had at this time. Stompers like "Barmy," "What You Need," and the mighty "Gut of the Quantifier" are all led by Brix Smith's twanging lead hooks, filled by distorted guitars and bludgeoning drums, on top of which Smith rants with conviction. But it's the departures from this sound that mark the real interest here: The synth-driven "L.A." looks ahead to the Fall's experiments with electronica; "Paint Work" is an impressionist piece interrupted by Smith accidentally erasing over some of the track at home; and "I Am Damo Suzuki," a tribute to Can's lead singer, which borrows its arrangement from several of that group's songs. The Fall sound mysterious, down-to-earth, and hilarious all at the same time.' - Ted Mills / All Music Guide


Disc 1
1 Mansion
2 Bombast
3 Barmy
4 What You Need
5 Spoilt Victorian Child
6 L.A.
7 Gut of the Quantifier
8 My New House
9 Paintwork
10 I Am Damo Suzuki
11 To Nkroachment: Yarbles

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »