Port O'Brien

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

DOWNLOAD a free copy of "My Will Is Good" right now!

2009, ATO

VINYL FORMAT. As 2009 began, Port O'Brien started to prepare songs for what was to become Threadbare. What started as a light-hearted and loose effort quickly turned into a dense, introspective work following the tragic loss of Cambria's younger brother. They started recording at their friend Jason Quever of Papercuts' living room studio in San Francisco. The songs were given a certain warmth and intimacy that couldn't be achieved in a larger space. The sense of comfort they found gave them the ability to fully realize the weight of the songs. "In the Meantime" explores the desire for contentment in tumultuous times. "High Without the Hope" bookends the album, illuminating the emotion and sense of loss that was felt throughout the recording process.

After spending weeks recording with Jason, the band felt they could work in a more open space. They worked on the more celebratory and rhythmic songs in Los Angeles with Aaron Espinoza of Earlimart at the Ship recording studio. "My Will is Good" and "Oslo Campfire" describe the liberation that follows in the wake of making active changes in one's life following tragedy.

These sessions create Threadbare. Its become somewhat of a two sided record with dark, haunting, and at times meditative songs paired up with the untiring, somewhat aggressive and punchy anthems that Port O'Brien is becoming known for. The last few years have seen many adventures for the band. The creation of this record came with continuing changes both within the band personally, and sonically. Port O'Brien will continue to evolve. In the meantime, Threadbare stands as another mark this young band is leaving.


Disc 1
1 High Without the Hope 3
2 My Will Is Good
3 Oslo Campfire
4 In the Meantime
5 Tree Bones
6 Sour Milk/Salt Water
7 Threadbare
8 Calm Me Down
9 Leap Year
10 Next Season
11 (((Darkness Visible)))
12 Love Me Through
13 High Without the Hope 72

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »