Toy Love

Toy Love

Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2013, Captured Tracks / Flying Nun

VINYL FORMAT. Comes with a digital download! This 28- track double LP compilation collects all the A & B sides of the three Toy Love singles, plus the best demos from 1979, a live track and even a radio jingle - all mastered for vinyl, straight from the original analogue tapes. Housed in a gatefold jacket, a 24 page booklet accompanies the release with photos, ephemera and commentary from Toy Love. While, the back cover features a sketched cartoon of an early Toy Love flyer drawn by Chris Knox.

Evolving from Dunedin band, The Enemy, Toy Love had a brief but bright existence between January 1979 and September 1980. Invoking the ghost of punk and the melody and creativity of 60-70s pop, they were peerless at a time when New Zealand music was still struggling to imprint itself on the national consciousness. They became a model for local musicians around the country and inspired the birth of Flying Nun Records – a label which many from the band went on to work with, including Chris Knox and Alec Bathgate with the Tall Dwarfs and Paul Kean with The Bats. Then, in 2005 Flying Nun released Cuts, a double CD anthology of Toy Love material. Electrifying and unmissable, Toy Love made an impact on all who saw then, and continue to do so around the world today.


Disc 1
1 Sqeeze
2 Rebel
3 Don't Ask Me
4 Sheep
5 Bride of Frankenstein
6 Amputee Song
7 Good Old Joe
8 Squeeze
9 Sheep
10 I Don't Mind
11 Swimming Pool
12 Death Rehearsal
13 Unscrewed Up
14 Toy Love Song
15 Photographs of Naked Ladies
16 Lust
17 I'm Not Bored
18 1978
19 15
20 Cold Meat
21 The Cruncher
22 I Wanna Die With You
23 Don't Catch Fire
24 Green Walls
25 Pull Down the Shades
26 Frogs
27 Fast Ostrich
28 Radio Hauraki Jingle
29 nd To Last Song Toy Love Wrote (with ad lib lyrics)

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »