Travis Morrison


We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2004, Barsuk

For ten years, Morrison was the lead singer and lyricist of the DC art-rock quartet The Dismemberment Plan, who brought samplers, hip-hop, and fun to underground rock. This solo effort is a political, dark, and booty shaking release recorded by Chris Walla (Death Cab For Cutie, Decemberists, Velvet Teen) and Don Zientara (Fugazi, Bad Brains). It matches video game noises and synth beds with intricate funk and hip-hop-inspired cut-and-paste structures, all rubbing against a warm acoustic soundscape that swings from Steely Dan smoothness to full orchestral string arrangements to piano-driven post-punk rave-ups. And his lyrics are on par with Lou Reed, digging deeper to contemplate the personal and metaphorical melancholy that pulse under this country's current anger and distrust.


Disc 1
1 Get Me Off This Coin A
2 Change
3 Born in '72
4 My Two Front Teeth
5 Get Me Off This Coin B
6 People Die
7 Song for the Orca
8 Any Open Door
9 Get Me Off This Coin C
10 Che Guevara Poster
11 Word Cop
12 Angry Angel
13 Get Me Off This Coin D
14 [Untitled Hidden Track]

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »