Unknown Pleasures (Reissue)

Joy Division

Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

Unknown Pleasures (Reissue) is part of our 70% OFF!

2007, Rhino Records

VINYL FORMAT. Insound Staff Pick - 2008! Recorded at Strawberry Studios, Stockport, England. 180 gram vinyl. Hailing from Manchester, England, Joy Division profoundly affected the alternative music scene. Arriving as punk music was waning, Joy Division's music inhabits an eerie, twilight world. Decay and alienation envelop singer Ian Curtis, whose cavernous, but dispassionate, voice belied the intensity he brought to bear. Rolling drum patterns, thudding bass lines and uncluttered synthesizer combine to create a dank, brooding atmosphere, chillingly supporting the songs' bleak lyrics. Yet listening to Unknown Pleasures is not a depressing experience. The group generate a terse excitement, emphasizing individual strengths and avoiding unnecessary embellishment. Their sense of commitment is utterly convincing and few debut albums can boast such unremitting power.


Disc 1
1 Disorder
2 Day of the Lords
3 Candidate
4 Insight
5 New Dawn Fades
6 She's Lost Control
7 Shadowplay
8 Wilderness
9 Interzone
10 I Remember Nothing

Customer Reviews


1 reviews

Amazing emotional album

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »