Vinyl LP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2011, Captured Tracks

VINYL FORMAT. The album, recorded at Rear House with Jarvis Taveniere of Woods, documents Widowspeak's inaugural year. In a relaxed studio setting songs born from those first jittery practices could breathe. The trio expanded their modest instrumentation while retaining a sparse aesthetic. The resulting record offers an eerie ambience, at times channeling 1950's jukebox pop, at others, 1960's psychedelia. While garnering comparisons to slow-moving 1990's acts such as Mazzy Star or Cat Power, Widowspeak have defined a sound that's earnestly nostalgic, and increasingly confident. Even so, these are songs about heartache. They are songs about homesickness, about longing for pine forests, reckless youth, and dark nights in strange cities.


Disc 1
1 Puritan
2 Harsh Realm
3 Nightcrawlers
4 In the Pines
5 Limbs
6 Gun Shy
7 Hard Times
8 Fir Coat
9 Half Awake
10 Ghost Boy

Insound Studio Sessions
Check out exclusive live video and MP3s with Widowspeak!
Widowspeak Studio Session

Customer Reviews


0 reviews

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »