Yuck (Reissue)


Vinyl 2xLP

We're sorry, but this product is no longer available.

2011, Fat Possum

VINYL FORMAT. Reissue contains bonus LP, which features six new tracks and new artwork! Over this past year, Yuck have emerged as one of the best and brightest new bands, not to mention one of the most mercurial and unpredictable. Far from following any set patterns, they have instead forged their own path and cultivated a fervently devoted fanbase in the process, from their gorgeously winsome debut single Georgia, released on Transparent (and recently on Fat Possum in the US), to the four track, piano-led Yu(c)k EP Weakend on Mirror Universe Tapes, to finally signing with Fat Possum/Pharmacy Recording Co. and releasing their sprawling, epic single Rubber in November 2010. That deliciously maverick streak shows up once again on this, their hotly anticipated debut album. Self-produced, it finally unveils the full breadth and scope of Yuck, showcasing a band capable of sprinting off in pretty much any direction you can think of, so diverse and fully realized is its vision. It also shows that their previous releases were merely skimming the tip of the iceberg in terms of what the quartet of Daniel Blumberg, Max Bloom, Mariko Doi and Jonny Rogoff are capable of. This is a confident, wildly ambitious record, but also one which brims over with a ragged warmth and tenderness, tipping its hat at alt music heroes past such as East River Pipe, Dinosaur Jr. and Sparklehorse while at the same time retaining a unique identity entirely its own. From the rousing call to arms of the opener "Get Away" to the hypnotic sturm und drang of "Rubber" and the grungy serotonin rush of "Operation," it is clear that this is a band in full control of their powers when it comes to anthemic and offbeat guitar rock. But they also reveal an achingly fragile side too, as with the gorgeous, heartsick croon on "Suck," or on "Sunday," where Blumberg asks, "Did you take the rhythm from me' Yesterday I had it all" over chiming, jangling guitars.


Disc 1 Disc 2
1 Get Away
2 The Wall
3 Shook Down
4 Holing Out
5 Suicide Policeman
6 Georgia
7 Suck
8 Stutter
9 Operation
10 Sunday
11 Rose Gives A Lilly
12 Rubber

Insound Studio Sessions
Check out exclusive live video and MP3s with Yuck!
Yuck Studio Session

Customer Reviews


1 reviews

Rifqi Ally
Awsome. 90's

Want to submit a review?

Log in or create an account!


0 items
Checkout »